During the late 1960s, Angela C. Butler photographed the entire town of Park City, Utah just before it was transformed into the world famous ski resort and home to the Sundance Film Festival. The Silver King mine was high on the side of Woodside Canyon, and the road to get the ore down to Park City to be loaded into rail cars was steep and dangerous, especially for loaded ore wagons. Transportation by wagons was also subject to seasonal effects such as mud, snow and ice. In 1900 the Silver King put in an aerial tramway over 7,000 feet in length, with its lower terminal smack in downtown Park City, adjacent to the Union Pacific and Rio Grande depots. Although the tramway remained in service until 1952, the building itself remained and became an iconic symbol of the Park City ski industry until it burned in 1981.
Changes in 1952 and 1953 brought an end to the Silver King aerial tram, when the Silver King Coalition Mines Company and the Park Utah Consolidated Mines Company merged to form United Park City Mines Company. By 1953, most of the ore was moving underground by way of the expanded Ontario drain tunnel, three miles to the east, served by a Union Pacific spur built in 1923. This same Union Pacific spur was extended in 1941 to serve the Mayflower mine of New Park Mining Company.
Angela C. Butler photographed the town and surround environs in large format black and white and 35-mm color slides and they sat in storage for decades before being showcased on this website for public use. To request a high-res digital file place cursor over picture to get file name and send it to c@EBGOVisionMedia.com.